Mumbai’s top fire officers who lost lives presented President’s Medals posthumously

group photo

P S Rahangadale

MUMBAI, 5 December, 2018 (GPN) : The Governor of Maharashtra CH. Vidyasagar Rao on Wednesday presented the President’s Fire Service Medals for Gallantry (posthumous) to five officers of the Mumbai Fire Brigade who lost their lives in the fire in Kalbadevi and Andheri. Twenty One  other fire personnel were also decorated with the President’s Medals for gallantry and  meritorious service.

Sunil Nesarikar, Chief Fire Officer, Sudhir Amin, Deputy Chief Fire Officer, Sanjay Rane, Assistant Divisional Fire Officer and Mahendra Desai Station Officer who lost their lives in the fire at Gokul Niwas in Kalbadevi and Nitin Ivalekar who lost his life in the fire at Lotus Business Park in Andheri were presented the medal posthumously.

(Smt Jayashri Sunil Nesarikar, Smt Sharmila Sudhir Amin, Smt Medha Sanjay Rane, Smt Manasi Mahendra Desai and Smt Shubhangi Nitin Ivalekar accepted the medals on behalf of the five officers.)

The President’s Fire Service Medals for Gallantry and Fire Service Medals for Gallantry and Meritorious Service were presented at an Investiture Ceremony held at Raj Bhavan, Mumbai on Wednesday (5th Dec).

Earlier, the Governor presented the Flag of the Maharashtra State Fire Service to the Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis.

The Chief Minister handed over the flag to P S Rahangadale, Director of Maharashtra Fire Services. Ends

About the Author

Sachin Murdeshwar
Sachin Murdeshwar is a Sr.Journalist and Columnist in several Mainline Newspapers and Portals.He is an ardent traveller and likes to explore destinations to the core.